The Buddy Guy Concert

I could write a review of the Buddy Guy show last night, but I think the following sequence pretty much sums it up. (Hint: I'm the one in the gray shirt in the last three photos.) A special thanks to Amy for having the presence of mind to take these pictures!

I tracked down the song he was playing ("Drowning on Dry Land" by Al Jackson Jr.), and the lyrics he sang to me were essentially:

You know my mother told me the story
About that li`l dog that couldn`t see too well
He was crossing a railroad track one day
When the train cut off a part of his tail
He turned around but never looked up
Just to peep over the rail
And she said he lost his whole head
Trying to find a little piece of tail

Priceless advice!

Thanks for an incredible evening, Buddy!

5 thoughts on “The Buddy Guy Concert

  1. I heard some famous blues singer guy (whose name I've forgotten) sing that same song at Tall Stacks a few years back. Of course, he didn't serenade me personally…he just sang to the audience. You are very lucky.(Where was the concert? It looks like it took place on a golf course.)

  2. Elk Creek Vineyards, in Owenton, Kentucky. It's over an hour's drive from the northerly parts of Cincinnati, well out in the middle of the Louisville-Lexington-Cincinnati triangle. They've got their own amphitheater–and the unusual phenomenon of audience drunkards swilling wine instead of beer.

Comments are closed.